MoveUP – 2015 General Election Results

October 5, 2015

On August 25, 2015 the list of nominees for executive board positions were posted and an election was held for all contested positions.

There were elections for:

  • Secretary-Treasurer (2 candidates for 1 position)
  • Executive Board Combined – Transit (3 candidates for 1 position)
  • Executive Board Combined – Labour (3 candidates for 1 position)
  • Executive Board Combined – Finance/Insurance (Position 1) (2 candidates for 1 position)
  • Executive Board ICBC (9 candidates for 6 positions)

The elections were held by mail-in ballot between September 11 and October 1, 2015.

I am pleased to announce the following successful candidates:


Lori Mayhew

Executive Board Combined – Transit:

Alicia Doyon

Executive Board Combined – Labour:

Susan Orr

Executive Board Combined – Finance/Insurance (Position 1)

Graeme Hutchison

ICBC: (in random order)

Annette Toth


Joyce Galuska


Yasmin Carroll


Robert Starcevich


Inner Johal


Bryan Finstad


Our heartfelt thanks goes out to all of the candidates who put their names forward for election to the executive board. Your participation is a vital part of our democracy and member engagement. Your efforts are appreciated and we look forward to your continued contribution to the union as stewards and activists.


The MoveUP vice presidents will be elected from the executive board by the delegates to the 2015 MoveUP convention taking place on November 5 to 7, 2015.  Nominations for vice presidents will be open from Monday, October 5, 2015 to Friday, October 16, 2015.  Nomination forms for the vice president position can be found here. One vice president from each of the groups below will be elected to represent the following membership constituencies:

  • ICBC
  • Utilities (BC Hydro, ABSU, FortisEnergy, Fortis-Hydro) 
  • Combined Units (Finance-Insurance, Transport-Shipping-Manufacturing, Labour, Transit, Miscellaneous)