MoveUP – 2018 General Election Results

September 28, 2018

To: All MoveUP Members

On September 7, 2018 the list of nominees for executive board positions were posted and an election was held for all contested positions.

There were elections for the following positions:

President (3 candidates for 1 position)
Secretary-Treasurer (2 candidates for 1 position)
Utilities – Hydro (4 candidates for 3 positions)
Utilities – Fortis/CHC (3 candidates for 1 position)
ICBC – (11 candidates for 6 positions)
Combined – Miscellaneous (2 candidates for 1 position)
Combined – Transit (3 candidates for 1 position)
Combined – Finance/Insurance (3 candidates for 1 position)
Combined – Labour (5 candidates for 1 position)

The elections were held between September 7th and September 27th, 2018.

The votes were counted today by the undersigned and I am pleased to announce the following successful candidates:

David Black

Lori Mayhew

Utilities – Hydro
(in alphabetical order)
Anderson Charles
Rysa Kronebusch
Bruce Sarvis

Utilities – Fortis/CHC
Michael Carr

(in alphabetical order)
Brenda Chu
Colin Clark
Bryan Finstad
Melissa Maher
Gunter Seifert
Annette Toth

Combined – Miscellaneous
Christy Slusarenko

Combined – Transit
Safar Alikhani

Combined – Finance/Insurance
Graeme Hutchison

Combined – Labour
Bilbeer Sandhu

The executive board position for Combined – Shipping/Transportation/Manufacturing remains vacant.

Our heartfelt thank you goes out to all of the candidates who put their names forward for election to the executive board. Your participation is a vital part of our democracy and member engagement. Your efforts are appreciated and we look forward to your continued contribution to the union.

Vice-President Elections

The MoveUP vice-presidents will be elected from the executive board by the delegates to the 2018 MoveUP convention taking place on November 1 to 3, 2018.

Nominations for your vice-presidents will be open from 8:30am on Monday, October 1, 2018 to 4:30pm on Friday, October 12, 2018. Nomination forms for the vice-president position can be found here.

One vice-president from each of the groups below will be elected to represent the following membership constituencies:

  • ICBC
  • Utilities (Hydro, Fortis/CHC)
  • Combined Units (Finance/Insurance, Transportation/Shipping/Manufacturing, Labour, Transit, and Miscellaneous)

In solidarity,

Michelle Medeiros
Returning Officer

File Number: 18-MOVEUP-ELEC-GENERAL-Bulletin-Results-Sept-28
Union Label: /yg: USW 2009